naturally and humanely raised meat


Richard the Pig hangs out with his buds at Goat Lady Dairy farm

All right. I did it. I bought some baby back ribs this morning from Back Woods Farms at the Greensboro Farmer’s Curb Market. Wes Peterson changed the name of his business to avoid confusion with a Peterson who is selling conventionally raised meat at the Piedmont Triad Farmer’s Market at Sandy Ridge Road.

To understand the significance of this, you should know that I have boycotted pork since around 1996. I am enormously concerned about the effects of huge industrial hog farms on our state’s environment and quality of life. Plus, I had a mind-meld with a pig on a truck in which he was in a complete panic. I won’t tell you what he told me. It was a private thing just between us, and can’t be articulated in human words anyway.

In the past year, as I have become aware of the changing conditions of our food supply, and the importance of buying locally on the economy and the environment, I have finally come to this conclusion. I am going to support the small farmers who make an effort to provide us with healthy, humanely produced meat, poultry, egg, and dairy products. As much as I would like to become a vegetarian, it is not going to happen any time soon. And if I can eat something that used to breathe, what’s the difference between eating seafood and beef? Or pork? Or chicken? As long as these animals are raised in a pleasant environment in natural conditions and taken care of, they are better off than in the wild. My reasoning was that we’d be better off without pigs altogether than for them to be raised in horrible conditions. I still believe that is true, but it is not a practical solution. It won’t happen. But we do have choices now.

Until recently, you couldn’t get humanely farm-raised pork with no antibiotics or growth hormones unless you were buddies with a small farmer who raised his own. Now, with large companies like Niman Ranch and small farmers like Wes Peterson getting into the game, you can. It’s a different market these days. More and more consumers are demanding meat products that aren’t raised in filthy, disgusting conditions. You can also buy chicken, beef, turkey, and lamb. Deep Roots Market and Earth Fare carry organic, free-range, and antibiotic/hormone-free meats if you can’t make it to the farmers’ markets.

Now, I don’t know if I’ll be able to make myself eat these ribs. I’ve conditioned my mind against it for about nine years now, and you can convince yourself of anything if you work hard enough at it. My brain says, don’t eat a pig. It’s an intelligent creature whose only purpose in life is to suffer for our gain. But Wes is doing us, and pigs, a service here, and if I don’t eat these, my husband will be happy to have them all to himself.

I highly recommend that everyone watch The Meatrix. What will it be for you, the red pill or the blue pill? The video starts up when you open the page.

50 Responses to naturally and humanely raised meat

  1. site says:

    I believe that one of your advertisements initiated my web browser to resize, you may well want to set that on your blacklist.

  2. allowing says:

    Awesome post . Thanks for, posting on this blog man! I shall message you soon. I did not realise that!

  3. I Am Going To have to visit again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am taking your Rss feed so i can read your blog offline. Cheers.

  4. account says:

    Just to let you know your website looks a little bit strange on Firefox on my pc using Linux .

  5. sabika says:

    Heya, I just hopped over to your site thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would usually browse, but I liked your thoughts none the less. Thank you for creating some thing well worth browsing.

  6. How do you make this site look this good!? Email me if you can and share your wisdom. Id appreciate it!

  7. podium steps says:

    I was wondering if you ever considered switching the design of your blog? Its well written; I enjoy what you have got to state. But maybe you can create a a bit more in the way of content so people might connect with it better. You have got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two graphics. Maybe you could space it out better?

  8. Is it alright to put part of this on my personal web site if perhaps I post a reference to this website?

  9. Jesus Christ theres a great deal of spammy feedback on this web page. Have you ever before believed about attempting to get rid of them or installing a wordpress plugin?

  10. buy fridge freezer says:

    I Am Going To have to visit again when my course load lets up – nevertheless I am taking your Rss feed so i could go through your site offline. Cheers.

  11. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed is not working today. I tried including it to my Google reader account and got nothing.

  12. address says:

    I was curious about if you ever thought of changing the layout of your website? It is well written; I enjoy what youve got to say. But maybe you could include a little more in the way of written content so people might connect to it better. You have got a great deal of text for only having one or two graphics. Maybe you could space it out better?

  13. read this says:

    When I open up your Rss feed it appears to be a lot of garbage, is the issue on my part?

  14. save on says:

    Heya, I just hopped over to your site thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would typically read, but I liked your views none the less. Thank you for creating something worth reading through.

  15. what now says:

    How come you dont have your web site viewable in mobile format? Can not view anything in my netbook.

  16. Im having a little problem. I cant get my reader to pick-up your rss feed, Im using msn reader by the way.

  17. This is really a amazing web site, could you be interested in working on an interview regarding just how you developed it? If so e-mail myself!

  18. The design for the blog is a little bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your web site. I may have to use a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  19. like i said says:

    When I start your Feed it appears to be to be a ton of garbage, is the problem on my side?

  20. I experimented with looking at your blog in my cellphone and the structure doesnt seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not really working with your website.

  21. Hey there, I just hopped over to your web-site thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might generally browse, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thanks for making some thing worthy of browsing.

  22. Is it fine to place part of this on my website if I submit a reference to this web page?

  23. website says:

    This is really a wonderful web site, would you be interested in making time for an interview concerning just how you created it? If so e-mail me and my friends!

  24. this month says:

    Re: Whoever created the statement that this was a great web site really needs to have their brain evaluated.

  25. The majority of of the commentary on this web site dont make sense.

  26. This is really a fantastic weblog, could you be interested in making time for an interview regarding just how you developed it? If so e-mail me!

  27. The structure for the website is a tad off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your site. I might have to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  28. quite beneficial stuff, all round I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, thanks

  29. How do you make a blog look this good!? Email me if you want and share your wisdom. Id be appreciative.

  30. How do you make your blog look this awesome. Email me if you can and share your wisdom. Id appreciate it.

  31. Heya, I just hopped over to your site via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might generally read, but I enjoyed your views none the less. Thank you for creating something worthy of reading.

  32. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your webpage? I am hunting for a very good host and your blog seams to be fast and up most the time

  33. logo says:

    I enjoy your wordpress design, where did you get a hold of it?

  34. Is it alright to insert part of this in my website if perhaps I publish a reference to this webpage?

  35. As soon as I initially commented I clicked the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently every time a remark is added I get 4 messages with the identical comment.

  36. The majority of of the remarks on this website dont make sense.

  37. close window says:

    I believe that one of your current advertisements initiated my internet browser to resize, you might well want to put that on your blacklist.

  38. Have you considered including several social bookmarking buttons to these blogs. At least for twitter.

  39. Have you considered including some social bookmarking links to these blogs. At least for myspace.

  40. go here says:

    surprisingly useful material, in general I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, thank you

  41. How come you dont have your site viewable in wap format? Can not view anything in my iPad.

  42. like i said says:

    I was basically curious about if you ever thought of switching the design of your web site? Its very well written; I enjoy what you have got to say. But maybe you can add a a bit more in the way of written content so people might connect to it better. Youve got a great deal of text for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  43. This is often a amazing blog, would you be interested in going through an interview concerning just how you created it? If so e-mail me personally!

  44. This is often a amazing weblog, could you be interested in working on an interview about just how you made it? If so e-mail myself!

  45. extremely beneficial material, on the whole I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, cheers

  46. appstar scam says:

    quite helpful stuff, all round I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, many thanks

  47. Is it fine to place a portion of this on my personal weblog if I submit a reference to this web page?

  48. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Feed is not functioning today. I tried adding it to my Google reader account and got absolutely nothing.

  49. The design for your web site is a bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your site. I may need to use a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  50. Kristeen says:

    Thank you so much for taking time in order to create “naturally
    and humanely raised meat | Slow Food Piedmont Triad”.
    Thank you for a second time -Ezekiel

Leave a Reply

