Book Discussion: Omnivore’s Dilemma

I’m in the middle of Michael Pollan’s book The Omnivore’s Dilemma and I would love to know how others are responding to it. My husband and I were unable to make it to the book discussion group.

Any takers?

Laura Frazier

2 Responses to Book Discussion: Omnivore’s Dilemma

  1. Carla Taylor says:

    I’ve read Michael Pollan’s book and thought it was fantastic! It is obviously an extremely well researched book, and certainly helps me to understand the forces behind our food chain.

  2. sfpt says:

    I love his writing style; a nice mix of journalism and storytelling.

    Were there any surprises for you? How has what you read affect your eating habits?

    Because I had seen “The Future of Food” first and have been educating mySelf about Permaculture, homesteading and such, I wasn’t took shocked. But one thing that is standing out so far is the secrecy of the Corn Industry and the Meat Packing Industry. And the complexity of food choices is growing due to the industrialization of “organics.” That part burst a happy little bubble for me! Oh well.

    What were your favorite parts of the book?

    Thanks for responding.

Leave a Reply

